Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
The State of Wisconsin mandates in State Statute 101.14(2)(b) that the Fire Department conduct fire prevention inspections.
Show All Answers
Wisconsin Administrative Code COMM 14.01(13)(b)(3) dictates that these inspections be performed twice a year.
How long you have to rectify a code violation depends on the code that is broken. We are allowed a certain amount of flexibility with some codes. Generally, most violations should be corrected within 30 days. Some violations require more immediate action. Your Fire Inspector will let you know if any such conditions exist.
According to NFPA 10 which governs fire extinguishers as adopted by State Administrative Code) a 2A:20BC extinguisher must be within 75 feet of travel distance from any area (50 feet if there are flammable liquids present in the occupancy).